We’ve reached our first goal: 500 visitors

Yesterday we had 501 visitors, and today we are up to 528.  We have 22 states and 11 countries from five continents represented.  Thanks to everyone for visiting, and especially to those who have left us comments.  We have enjoyed corresponding with our new blogging friends at Huzzah! and in Mrs. Krebs’ class.  We hope to meet more friends this year.  Our next goal is to complete some type of project with another class that we meet through blogging.

To celebrate reaching our first milestone, we had a Blogging Party today.  We watched the movie Hercules since we recently finished reading the myth.  We also opened a concession stand with popcorn, soda and candy.  Some of the kids brought in blankets and pillows so they could watch the quintessential Greek hero in style.

What are your goals in school this year?  Do you have a plan to celebrate when you reach a goal?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

68 thoughts on “We’ve reached our first goal: 500 visitors

  1. I work with Brooke’s dad Mike and he asked me to check out the blog. That’s great that you have reached your goal. Very impressive. Keep up the good work.

    • Dear Capt. Jon,
      Thanks so much for commenting on our blog. We love getting visitors. Our next goal is to reach all 50 states. That will require some reaching out on our part, which is great because we are working on our writing skills as we enjoy our blog. Please thank our number one fan, Mike, too.
      Thanks for helping us learn,
      ~Mrs. Donofrio and all her kids

  2. Way to go kids!!! You are doing a great job telling everyone about this blog. Onto the next goal! All 50 states. Good Luck. I know you can do it.

  3. WOAH! Mrs .Donofrio look at all out visitors now! We have 669 visitors , now that is impressive ! I think that Hey Kids is becoming quite popular !

  4. Wow! I’m so happy for you! I’m glad you reached your 500th visitor and I hope you reach up to the thousandths! By the way, I’m Euriel from Mr. Miller’s Class. Anyways, I like the way your blog is set up, so simple and easy. How many visitors is your next goal? And just wondering, how was the movie, Hercules?
    – Euriel of AVID and Mr. Miller’s Class
    URL: http://mrmillersstudent200.edublogs.org/

    • Hi Euriel,
      Thanks so much for your nice post. Our next goal is to get all 50 states. We are a little more than half-way there. We will have to do a lot of writing ourselves to reach out to classes around the country. Of course, that is one of the goals of blogging: improving our writing. The movie Hercules was great! We watched the Disney version. Everyone was singing the song, “Zero to Hero” and we found lots of allusions to Greek mythology. It was a fun way to end the unit and to celebrate our goal. If you haven’t seen the movie yet, I recommend it. We’ll visit your blog on Monday.
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  5. Hi there Mrs. Donofrio! My name is Letty, and I am from Mr. Miller’s Class. Congratulations for reaching 500 visitors!!! 😛 That is a great feeling, and I would know. Especially, since I am the only one in Mr. Miller’s class to have 6,434 visitors. I have always dreamed of going to Florida, I hear it is so amazing. What do you enjoy mostly about Florida? If you ever want to visit my blog, you can go to http://pirate62.edublogs.org/

    – Letty

    • Hi Letty,
      I am very impressed with your 6,434 visitors! What do you do to encourage that kind of traffic? I would love it if by Christmas we hit 5,000 visitors. Florida is a great state. A lot of people only think of Disney when they think of Florida, but we are so much more than that. Our school is just a mile from the beach and is on an island. We are connected to the mainland by three bridges. There is a lot of history in Florida, too. The oldest city in America, St. Augustine, is located in the northeast corner of our state. Explorers from Spain landed here before the Pilgrims landed in Plymouth, Massachusetts. Also, there are a lot of cool animals here, such as: alligators, wild boar, panthers, armadillos, iguanas, pelicans, loggerhead sea turtles, manatees, and dolphin. I have seen all of these animals, except for the panthers, near my home. The part of Florida we live in is very flat and is warm all year round. In the summer it is in the 90s every day; in the winter, it is around 70. Once in a while, it drops to about 50 in January. We will visit your blog when we get back to school on Monday.
      Thanks for writing,
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  6. Hello Mrs. Donofrio. My name is Breeyana and I’m in Mr.Miller’s class. Congrats on you first goal! I hope you will get more visitors soon! Right now I have 2,456 visitors, but I hope I get more. Would you guys like to Skype with us sometime? We will be glad if you will. If you have some spare time, please visit my blog at http://pirate63.edublogs.org/

    • Wow, Breeyana! 2,456 visitors! I am impressed. How long have you been blogging? What do you do to encourage people to visit? My students will be happy to visit your blog this Monday when we have time in the computer lab. Thanks for visiting us!
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  7. Hi my name is Jonathan and I am in Mr. Miller’s classroom.First of all,congratulations on going to 500 visitors to 669.I can’t believe you are already got to 26 states!That is impressive.I only have about 3 states or maybe 2.I have 20 visitors.I wish you guys luck to get all 50 states.Bye for now!
    P.S if you want to visit my site it’s this link here:http://mrmillersstudent206.edublogs.org/

    -Jonathan

    • Hi Jonathan,
      I haven’t visited your blog yet, but on Monday you will get lots of visitors from Florida. My students will be in the computer lab then. Is Florida one of the two states you have now! I’m sure you will get more states the more you blog. Keep up the great work!
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  8. Hello my name is Gilbert and I’m in Mr.Miller’s class and I would like to congratulate you guys on having 528 visitors.I’m very happy for you guys and kip up the good work.

    • Hi Gilbert,
      Thanks for your nice comment. We are happy to report that we are over 600 visitors now. We are enjoying blogging; it’s a more modern version of pen pals. We’ll visit your blog on Monday.
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  9. Hi Mrs.Donofrio, my name is Caroline. I am in Mr.Miller’s class. Congrats on reaching your 500th visitor! I hope you get many more visitors during the rest of the year.

    Thank you for commenting on my post about people I remembered. Please come visit my personal blog and read my other posts.

    ~Your new friend
    Caroline

    • Dear Caroline,
      Thanks for writing back and visiting our class blog. My class is going to the computer lab on Monday, and we will make sure to visit your blog.
      Keep writing!
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  10. Hi my name is Leslie and i’m from Mr.Millers class. Congratulations on reaching 500 visitors!!! I’m trying to reach 500 im half way there. Good luck hopefully you get to reach a 1000 visitors soon. If you would like to visit my blog heres the link:
    http://pirate54.edublogs.org/

    -Leslie:)

    • Congratulations, Leslie, on making the half-way mark to your 1000 goal. My students will visit your blog on Monday and help you reach your goal. It’s great to have a goal to work toward. How often do you blog?
      We’ll see you on your blog,
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  11. Hi , my name is Anahi and I am from Mr Millers class. You guys are doing an awesome job , and I wanted to congratulate you on your 500 visitors! I hope you earn more, and if you have time please visit my blog Thank You , and good luck.

    • Hi Anahi,
      Thanks for your comment. We are happy to have met our goal. Our new goal is to get visitors from all 50 states. Do you have any blogging goals? We will visit you on Monday.
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  12. Hello my name is Maribel and I am in Mr.Millers Classroom. Congratulations on reaching 500 visitors. I hope you get more visitors soon. I have added you to my favorite links. Do you guys Skype because we like to Skype a lot with other classes. Did you know that you are 3 hours a head of us, When you are getting ready for school we are still sleeping and when you are leaving school we are still in school.

    – Maribel

    P.S please visit my blog –> http://pirate52.edublogs.org/

    • Hi Maribel,
      Thanks for visiting our class blog and leaving a comment. We saw a simile on the Huzzah! commenting guidelines that said “A comment is like getting a bouquet of flowers in the mail.” I agree! Thanks for adding us to your favorite links, too. On Monday my students will be in the computer lab, and we will send some flowers in the mail to you, too. Because of the time difference, you will be asleep when we send them, but you’ll be sure to find them when you arrive at school.
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  13. Hi Mrs.Donofrio,my name is Daisy and I’m from Mr.Miller’s 7th grade AVID class and I wanted to congratulate you and your class for reaching over 500 vistors.Yay!I wish I have 500 vistors in my blog but I barely started my own blog.You can visit my blog and help me gain more visit.Here is my blog address if you ever want to visit http://mrmillerstudent35.edublogs.org/

    • Hi Daisy,
      Thanks so much for visiting our class blog and leaving a comment. My class will be in the computer lab on Monday, and we will visit your blog. Could you tell me what AVID stands for?
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  14. Hi Mrs.Donofrio my name is Uriel.I am in Mr.Millers 7th grade AVID class. Congratulations on reaching your goal ,500 visitors,.I see you got 100 more visitors.I also want to get 500 visitors too.I really like your blog.Do you guys have skype? If you do we would like to skype with your class.Well congratulations on raching your goal 🙂

    Uriel 🙂

    • Hi Uriel,
      Thanks so much for writing to us. We are really enjoying learning to blog, and I am learning a lot from people like your teacher, Mr. Miller. I love his boot camp idea. In fact, I wish I could take his boot camp. I am learning about blogging all by myself on the computer in my kitchen. I look at other class blogs and go to the help section at Edublogs a lot. I really appreciate your kind words about our blog. My students will be visiting you on Monday.
      Keep up the good work,
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  15. Hello Mrs.Donofrio,
    Congratulation for hitting a mile stone. I am in Mr. Miller’s Class, I have my own blog hope for you to visit it sometime :D. Your 500 hundred visitor party sound really fun, I wish I could be there. How long have you been blogging? How long have you been teaching?
    ~Cheyenne~
    Here is my URL to my blog: http://pirate32.edublogs.org/
    See you soon

    • Hi Cheyenne,
      Thanks for your nice comment. I have been blogging for four months. I learned over the summer, and then my class started blogging in August when we came back to school. I have been teaching for twleve years, but not all in a row. I taught high school for six years, then I stopped teaching for eleven years and stayed at home while my four children were young. When my youngest started pre-school, I went back to work, and I teach in the same school that my kids attend. In fact, I had my oldest two as language arts students when they were in 6th, 7th, and 8th grade. Right now my son is in my 7th grade homeroom and in my language arts class. I had him in 6th grade, too. My youngest is in third grade, and the oldest two are in high school.
      My students will visit your blog on Monday. See you then!
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  16. Hello Mrs.Donofrio my name is Yamileth. I’m in Mr.Millers Class. Congratulations!!!!! you guys set a goal and achieved it you guys even passed your goal! Thats so amazing! It was awesome how you guys even celebrated that you guys made your goal. You guys have so much spirt!Oh and Thank You for Visiting our class blog we are all so happy to have a new friend especially from Florida! I’m so happy! I hope you guys have more goals and that you guys accomplish all of them.Thank You again and good bye.

    – Yami

    • Hi Yamileth,
      Thanks so much for writing to us. We are really enjoying blogging. It’s great to practice our writing skills and meet other students around the world at the same time. Our next goal is to get visitors from all 50 states. We are a little more than half-way to that goal. My students will be visiting your individual blogs on Monday. Thanks again for your cheerful comment!
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  17. Hi Mrs. Donofrio, my name is Julyssa. I am in Mr.Miller class. Congratulation on reaching your goal. I am really happy for you. Do you guys skype? We like to skype with all lot of classes. Hopefully on of those classes can be you. I really like your blog. Once again congrats on making your goal. 🙂
    Julyssa:)

    • Hi Julyssa,
      Thanks for your nice comments. We do Skype, and we would love to Skype with your class. So far we have Skyped with some authors. That was fun, too. We’ve met Roland Smith, who wrote Peak , a story about a 13-year-old boy who climbs Mount Everest, and Fern Schumer Chapman, who wrote Is It Night Or Day? This novel is about a girl who comes to America from Germany during World War II. I’ll write to your teacher and try to set up a Skype session. Thanks for writing!
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  18. Hi Mrs.Bdonofrio im in Mr.Miller’s class and want to congratulate you for you guys reaching your goal of 500 visitors.I also want to thank you for commeting on one of my fellow students blog post.I will like to answer your question about how we celebrate ancient times.Well we also have a middevil fair and we dress up as people from our ancient times and also play games.We have a lot of fun doing all these activities.The only difference here is that the middevil fair here is only for seventh graders.well I got to go but I hope you can reply back and maybe have a chance to visit my blog .http://mrmillerstudent50.edublogs.org/
    Thankyou

    – Daniela:)

    • Hi Daniela,
      Thanks for visiting our blog and leaving a comment. You can look forward to a student of mine visiting your blog on Monday.
      When you do have your Medieval Fair? Ours in next month. It is a lot of work to organize, but it’s also a lot of fun. Where do you get your costumes from? It would be fun to do some sort of project together about our Medieval Fairs.
      Thanks for your comment. We’ll write back soon,
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  19. hello Mrs.Bdonofrio I’m Joshua a classmate of Caroline which we are in Mr.Millers class thank for the comment that all of us that are in Mr.Millers that read the comment that you left for Caroline so please you and your students all of our blogs in Mr.Millers home room so goodbye for now

    • Hi Joshua! Thanks for visiting our blog. We are planning to go the computer lab on Monday, and some of my students will visit your blog and leave you a comment. I am impressed that Mr. Miller has 170 student blogs that he oversees. Wow! That is a big job.
      Keep up the good work,
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  20. Hello Mrs.Donofrio,
    I am Esmeralda from Mr.Millers Avid class.Congrats
    on your 500 Visitors! I wish i would have that much but sadly i don’t.My class and i should have a goal on our visitors.Thank You for giving us a great idea on the celebration for our visitors.Please visit my blog http://mrmillersstudent63.edublogs.org/ and comment back .
    ~Esmeralda:)

    • Hi Esmeralda,
      Thanks for visiting our blog and leaving a comment. I’m sure you will get to 500 visitors sometime this year. Your class blog has already surpassed that goal. We are working on setting goals in our class this year. We have academic goals, character goals, and spiritual goals. I have goals, too, and my first academic goal was to get 500 visitors. It takes some work to find other class blogs to visit and to write to them, but the rewards are great! We are so happy to “meet” your class, and my students will visit your blog on Monday. Soon you will be celebrating a goal, too!
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  21. Impressive Mrs. Donofrio! This blog is becoming quite the popular page. Although we have a long ways to go, I already see we have made a lot of new friends already. Some of them are from differant states, while others are from differant countries! I don’t like to brag, but my YouTube account has enough views to equal the population of Rhode Island! (*coughtwomillioncough*) Keep up the great work!

    -Josh

    • TWO MILLIOIN!! Wow, Josh! I am so impressed. Congratulations. That is due to a lot of hard work and dedication. I will have to return the favor and visit your YouTube site. I am proud of our class accomplishments thus far, and I know we will continue to use blogging to improve our writing and to learn about our world.
      Thanks for writing, Josh!
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  22. Hey Mrs. Donofrio! My name is Gisela and I’m from Mr. Miller’s class. I am very happy for your class for hitting 500 visitors. By now I think you should have more than that, but still Congratulations. My goal would be to reach 5,000 visitors, but for now I barely have 1,088. How about you guys help me reach my goal by visiting my blog. Well here’s my link:
    http://pirate34.edublogs.org/
    So, what goal are you going to set for you guys now?
    ~Gisela:)

    • Hi Gisela,
      We will be happy to visit yur blog. Congratulations on your 1,088 visitors. I think that is great. Our next goal is to get visitors from all 50 states. Good luck on hitting 5000. We’ll come by to visit soon.
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  23. Well done on 500 visitors! That’s a great achievement and the good thing is it ‘snowballs’ from there, so I am sure that 1,000 will come a lot quicker than you expect. You’ve also made some great contacts already, Mr Millers class is fantastic! The other thing, love the way that your students and yourself have started the blog, it looks friendly and happy, lots of photographs and video are a good thing. Our students are currently on their third term break and not back to school until next Monday, as were currently heading into Summer (its the Southern Hemisphere here, were on the bottom of the world!) so our students will come back next week. We’re also keen if you want to collaborate or have a chat over skype at some point (although be warned we do have funny accents in New Zealand!) Just drop us a comment and let us know.
    Mr Webb and Room Five, Melville Intermediate School, Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand.

    • Hi Mr. Webb,
      Thanks so much for your encouraging comment. We would love to Skype with you, and we look forward to hearing your accents. We’d also love to collaborate on a project. We usually do some sort of project in early December that explores Christmas Around the World. Since we are meeting students from around the world, perhaps we could use the holiday as a topic? Maybe other classes would join in, too. We also work on poetry around that time of year. We are open to any suggestions as well. Enjoy the rest of your break, and we look forward to hearing from you. Please also tell your students who sang “Ben” that they did a great job!
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  24. Yes would love too, our Skype account is my name myles.webb and we are located in Hamilton, New Zealand. I will tell Carter and Devon that you were listening to them sing, they will be thrilled to hear that.
    Look forward to collaborating with you.
    Mr Webb and Room Five, Melville Intermediate School, Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand.

    • Hello Mr. Webb and Room Five!
      We would love to Skype with you soon. In doing a little research, we think that you are 16 hours ahead of us. Do you think that sounds right? That will make things a little tricky because when you are starting your school day, we will have just finished school from the day before. While we are in school, you are sound asleep in the middle of the night. However, where there is a will, there is a way! I think some of my students would be happy to stay after school for such an exciting event as Skyping your class. So, if we Skyped at, say, 8 am your time on October 30th, I think it would be 4 pm our time on October 29th. At what time do you begin your school day? Would this day and time work for you?
      Hope to see you soon!
      Mrs. Donofrio and all her students in Venice, Florida

  25. Hi Mrs. Donofrio and class!
    Congratulations on reaching 500 viewers! I am from huzzah and this is my second year. This year we have a whole class of mostly new students so you will hopefully be getting even more viewers and comments. Keep up the great work!~Sophie

    • Hi Sophie!
      We will look forward to working with your class this year. Thanks for visiting us at Hey, Kids! Your class blog is one of our favorites!
      See you soon,
      Mrs. Donofrio

  26. Hi! Good job of making it to 700 visitors. I’ve been blogging for a year and you have more visitors than me and again great job for making 700 visitors. I am from huzzah! but I have a student blog.
    Kenzie

    • Hi Kenzie,
      Tomorrow my students will visit your student blog. Do you have a goal of how many visitors you’d like to have by a certain date? Good luch and keep going!
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  27. Hello Mrs. Donofrio’s class,
    My name is Adena and I am from Huzzah! While I was reading your class blog, I really liked your idea of completing a project with another blogging class online. You all seem like you enjoy blogging and have good experience with it. Huzzah could learn a lot from you guys and I look forward to coming back to your site again soon. I was going to congratulate you on 500 readers. Your next goal sounds very fun and maybe huzzah could be apart of that!
    -Adena,
    Huzzah

    • Hi Adena,
      Thanks for reading our class blog. So far you are right; we are enjoying blogging. We are learning a lot from your class blog! Did you know that Huzzah is featured on the Edublogs community page? We are going to visit your class blog, Huzzah!, tomorrow when we are in our computer lab.
      See you then!
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  28. Hi, Mrs. Donofrio’s class!

    I’m Samantha from Huzzah. I wanted to congratulate you on 500 visitors! That’s a lot! Hopefully this year you’ll get even more! Good luck with your goal, and keep up the good work!

    ~Sam

    • Hi Sam,
      Thanks so much for visiting us! We hope to get more visitors, too. Last time I checked, we were at 835. How many visitors do you have on your blog?
      We’ll visit soon so you can have some more.
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  29. Hey, Mrs.Donofrio’s class!
    My name Elysa and I’m from Huzzah! I’m also in grade 7 and I wanted to congratulate your class on over 500 visitors! That’s really cool! Hopefully one day you’ll get even more!
    ~Elysa

    • Thanks so much, Elysa, for your comment. You are right to predict that one day we’ll get even more than 500 visitors. That day has already come! The last time I checked, yesterday, we had 835. I am hoping for a thousand by this time next week. We also like to find the countries who visit us on our world map. Can you find Florida, USA, on a map? What do you notice about our state?
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  30. Hello I’m Bailee,

    I am new to Huzzah. I would love to get some great
    tips from you.

    Have a graeat day in Florida
    ~ Bailee

    • Hi Bailee,
      Thank you for reading our blog. We love to meet new blogging friends. We are new to blogging, so we may not have any tips that your teacher has not already shared with you. But, be that as it may, I think a good tip is to set a goal for blogging, and then to work toward that goal. If that goal is to improve your writing, then write every day to a new blogging friend (that could be us, or it could be lots of different people). If your goal is to learn about other parts of the world, try to visit a blog in a new country every day. What would you like to accomplish through blogging?
      I hope yo have a great day in Canada as well. What is the temperature there today? It was 89 degrees Farenheit here today. Do you use the Celcius or Farenheit scale?
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  31. Congratulations! On your now 800 visitors!Your soon going to be at 1,000 before you know it! Good luck my fellow friends! I Look forward to seeing you on your blog or maybe ours!

    • Hi Julia,
      Thanks so much for visiting us on Hey, Kids! We are planning to return the favor and visit you on Huzzah! this week. Huzzah is one of our favorite blogs. We really liked your job interviews. You kids have great senses of humor. We hope you have a good week in class, and we’ll see you soon.
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

    • Hi Jacob!
      Thanks so much for visiting our class blog. I’m glad you have a goal for your blog. The way to achieve goals is to make goals in the first place! What will you do to make your goal? My class will visit you on Monday.
      See you soon,
      ~Mrs. Donofrio

  32. Hi Mrs Donofrio,
    Congratulations on the over 500 visitors!
    I’m happy for you! Your blog is very cool and interesting and i’m not surprised that you got so
    many visitors…. You do a great job with your blog and you have very good description! How was the movie, and did you have fun with the party?
    Good luck with your blog!
    -Jenna

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *